What happens to brewed coffee?

Just as coffee beans go rancid after about two weeks, brewed coffee can start to taste bad after about 30 minutes, or the time it takes for the coffee to cool. Then you have about a 4-hour window before the oils in the coffee start to go bad, which further alters the taste