Who made up mac and cheese?

According to more than one urban legend, mac and cheese was invented by Thomas Jefferson, who, upon failing to receive an Italian pasta-making machine, designed his own machine, made the macaroni, and had the cook put liberal quantities of York cheddar and bake it .