What happened in eighteen fifty two?

March 2 – The first American experimental steam fire engine is tested. March 4 – The Phi Mu fraternity is established at Wesleyan College. March 20 – Uncle Tom's Cabin by Harriet Beecher Stowe is first published in book form, in Boston.