What's the difference between a red and green pepper?

A red pepper is a green pepper that has been allowed to ripen. Green peppers are picked when they are unripe and tend to have a grassy, slightly bitter flavor. Red peppers are fully ripened, they require more time to grow which results in a sweeter and fruitier taste and a higher price tag!