What is a jamboo?

Jamboo or Jhambu or Jambu ( Allium stracheyi) also called Faran is a perennial herb with rosy flowers whose leaves and inflorescence are dried and used for seasoning. Jambu is found at altitudes of 2500-3000 m in Alpine Himalayas of Uttarakhand.