How many cups is in twelve dry ounces?

Cups measure volume. Dry ounces measure weight. Despite multiple websites that lead you to believe otherwise, you cannot know this answer unless you know what you are measuring. For example,12 dry ounces of flour is 2 ¾ cups, but only 1 ¾ cups in 12 dry ounces of rice.