What is purple broccoli?

Purple Broccoli is a slower-growing, slightly tougher & more peppery version with purple heads. There is also a an early-sprouting cold-tolerant heirloom varietal popular in Italy and England, sometimes called “Italian asparagus”, with small purple florets instead of the single large clump