What's the difference between kielbasa and smoked sausage?

Smoked sausage refers to the way the sausage is made and includes kielbasa sausage. Kielbasa is a type of pork or pork and beef smoked sausage that hails from Poland. Kielbasa usually has a distinctive garlic taste along with other flavorings like smoke, cloves, pimentos and marjoram.