What is a cottage ham?

Cottage Ham is a boneless shoulder butt, cured in brine and sold raw and wrapped in netting, then in a plastic wrapper. The purpose of the netting is to hold it together while cooking. Cottage Ham is not the same as boneless shoulder pork, which is untreated and will have a bone usually.