What was the albatross?

What is an albatross? From Wikipedia. Albatrosses are very large seabirds that range widely in the Southern Ocean and the North Pacific, but are absent from the North Atlantic. They are among the largest flying birds, and some species have wingspans reaching up to 3.7 m.