What's the difference between a gammon a sweet potato?

A true yam is a vegetable of the old world and have been grown in Africa for thousands of years. They have been known to grow to over forty foot long. The yams found in supermarkets in America are actually sweet potatoes with a redder flesh than other sweet potatoes, and a product of the new world.