Who invented the convertible?

Chrysler Convertible modifications began just decades later in the first retractable hardtop system invented in 1922. The first power-operated retractable hardtop was produced by Peugeot in 1934; Chrysler manufactured their version of the hardtop convertible car in the 1941 Chrysler Thunderbolt.