Why is mayonnaise called mayonnaise?

Mayonnaise is the invention of the French chef of the Duke de Richelieu in 1756. When the chef realized that there was no cream in the kitchen, he improvised, substituting olive oil for the cream. A new culinary masterpiece was born, and the chef named it 'Mahonnaise' in honor of the Duke.