How long should you cook a steak on the grill?

For rib eye or new york steaks, place steaks on the grill & cook until golden brown & slightly charred, 4-5 minutes. Turn the steaks over & continue to grill 3-5 minutes for medium-rare (135 degrees F), 5-7 minutes for medium (140 degrees F) or 8-10 minutes for medium-well (150 degrees F).