What is the difference between black olives and green olives?

Both green and black olives are from the same plant, but their color depends on when they were picked and preserved. Green olives are less ripe and usually contain more salt and less oil. Black olives are more ripe and taste less bitter.

---

The color of an olive is based on when an olive is picked and preserved. Green olives are unripe, while black olives are ripened before being harvested. Green olives are soaked in lye, then fermented in brine. Black olives, are usually soaked in lye and then cured in brine to reduce bitterness.