Who invented trophies?

In Ancient Greece and Ancient Rome, trophies were associated with wartime battlefield victories. In the first Olympic Games, Laurel wreaths were awarded to victors. The closest to modern-day trophies were the Chalices given to winners of sporting events at least as early as the very late 1600s.