Why do they call a toilet a toilet?

The term “toilet” comes from the French “toilette”, which meant “dressing room”. This “toilette” in turn derived from the French “toile”, meaning “cloth”; specifically, referring to the cloth draped over someone's shoulders while their hair was being groomed