How are a dictionary and a glossary different?

A glossary is a collection of words pertaining to a specific topic, and their definitions. In a college thesis—or a textbook—it's a list of all the terms used that may not immediately be obvious to the reader. In contrast, a dictionary is a more general collection of a much greater number of words.