What is the definition of passive voice?

Passive voice is one of the two voices of verbs. A verb is in the passive voice when the subject of the sentence is acted on by the verb. For example, in “The ball was thrown by the pitcher,” the ball, the subject, receives the action of the verb, thrown, making the sentence passive voice.