Where does the name isabel come from?

Isabel is a Romance-language feminine given name. It originates as the medieval Occitan form of Elisabeth (ultimately Hebrew Elisheba), Arising in the 12th century, it became popular in England in the 13th century following the marriage of Isabella of Angoulême to the king of England.