What is a saxophone sound like?

The sound depends on skill of a player, size and condition of the instrument and other environmental factors. The sax is a woodwind instrument. wind is blown across a reed on a mouthpiece then passes through the body and released through a series of valves and bell; sound changes with key fingering.