Who is uncle gadget?

Inspector Gadget is a bumbling detective who uses bizarre devices to help him fight crime. He has a niece, Penny, who calls him "Uncle Gadget". He is voiced by Don Adams, who also played bumbling secret agent Maxwell Smart in the 1960's TV series "Get Smart"