Why do girls have cooties?

"Cooties" do exist; the term just happens to be WWI slang for "body lice". It should be noted that Cooties is generally only something that happens to girls their own age. ... In fact, a boy can think that Girls Have Cooties even while having a Precocious Crush on an older girl or woman.