What is a nephilim?

The Nephilim are mysterious beings or people in the Hebrew Bible, who are large and strong. The word Nephilim is loosely translated as giants in some translations of the Hebrew Bible, but left untranslated in others. Jewish explanations interpret them as hybrid sons of fallen angels.