What is a spice girl?

The Spice Girls are a British girl group formed in 1994, consisting of Melanie Brown, also known as Mel B; Melanie Chisholm, or Melanie C; Emma Bunton; Geri Halliwell; and Victoria Beckham. With their "girl power" mantra, they redefined the girl-group concept by targeting a young female fanbase.