Where were smoothies invented?

The concept of the smoothie actually first appeared around the 1930s when health food stores on the West Coast began adapting Brazilian recipes and selling these pureed fruit drinks. Recipes for a “banana smoothie” and a “pineapple smoothee” first appeared in the 1940s Waring “Blendor” cookbooks.