How long does it take for a turtle to grow?

Turtles generally reach maturity between 5 to 8 years of age, and for tortoises it can be as many as 20 years to reach full maturity. Much like the rings on the trunk of a tree, as a turtle ages it develops rings in its scutes, the plates that make up its shell.