Why are candy canes peppermint?

Candy canes are peppermint flavored as a reminder of the hyssop used by the people to put lamb's blood on the lintel to cause the angel of death to pass over them. Hyssop is in the mint family.

---

Because that flavoring is mixed into them traditionally.