What is the most common gemstone?

The most common of the gem grade corundum is blue sapphire. Sapphire comes in every color of the rainbow and the other colors are rarer than the blues. This may be a bit of a surprise as the blue ones are so valuable. However, the law of supply and demand comes in here.