Can you use milk instead of evaporated milk?

Yes, but milk has a higher water content than evaporated milk and you will need to adjust ingredients. You can make your own by reducing 2 and 1/4 cups of milk over medium heat to a gentle boil, stirring constantly until reduced by half (about 10 minutes).