Why do dogs kiss each other?

When dogs lick each other's face, they're not exactly kissing. It can be a sign of affection, but more likely, it's a sign the licker wants to play or is busy setting the social order. Licking is the opposite of aggressive behavior, so get ready to enjoy some play.