What happened in the year of eighteen twelve?

Besides the start of the War of 1812, the year 1812 saw the Treaty of Paris, the admission of Louisiana into the United States, the reelection of James Madison, the first printing of Grimm's Fairy Tales, and the passings of Vice President George Clinton, Sacagawea, and George Beck.