What major event happened on september eleventh?

On September 11, 2001, 19 men hijacked four U.S. commercial airplanes that had taken off with full fuel tanks for the West Coast. The hijackers deliberately crashed the planes into the Twin Towers of the World Trade Center, the Pentagon and onto a field outside of Shanksville, Pennsylvania.