What does it mean when lettuce is pink?

Lettuce can turn pink. The discoloration could be caused by several things, such as exposure to ethylene gas emitted by produce stored with the greens, or changes in storage temperature or exposure to too much oxygen. But, the lettuce is still entirely edible.