Who is john waits?

Do you mean John Waite? John Charles Waite (born 4 July 1952) is an English - American musician. As a solo artist, he has released ten studio albums and is best known for the 1984 hit single "Missing You", which reached No. 1 on the US Billboard Hot 100 and the top ten on the UK Singles Chart.