What are the nutritional benefits of rice?

Some nutritional benefits of rice are that it is a gluten-free grain. White rice is also easy on the digestive system. Brown rice contains both fiber and protein. Brown rice retains the bran layer and as such contains protective compounds called flavonoids, which help protect against disease.