Why is kosher salt called kosher salt?

for cooking purpose, kosher salt and sea salt are the same. Kosher salt earned its name from it's original purpose to kosher meat. It has nothing to do with kosher dietary guidelines. Sea salt is directly evaporated from seawater.

---

It is used in koshering, or removing blood from meat according to Jewish dietary law.

---

Because the pieces are the size that is used to salt meat in order to take out all the blood - and in turn making it Kosher