How do you tell the difference between a boy fox and a girl fox?

A male fox, also called a “dog” weighs 10-12 pounds on average, while the female fox, also known as a “vixen,” weighs 9-10 pounds. A male measures 54”-78” long, and a female measures 56”-74” long. Male foxes tend to have a longer snout as well.