What is the meaning of subvert?

The Cambridge dictionary defines 'subvert' as: "to try to destroy or damage something, especially an established political system" (https://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/english/subvert). The noun form 'subversion' is often used describing the act of subverting (usually a serious crime).