Is there such thing as an elephant seal?

Yes. Northern Elephant Seal is 2nd largest seal, after #1 Southern Elephant Seal. They move on land with effort,using front flippers &belly. Adult males, 14-16 ft long, 4,000-5,000 lbs in wt. Females are smaller, 9-12 ft, wt 900-1,800 lbs. Pups 3-4 ft long at birth, wt about 70 lbs. ElephantSeal.org