What causes leaves to turn color in the fall?

Leaves change color because the shorter days and cooler temperatures cause the plant or tree to store energy in the root system instead of the leaves. The chlorophyll that makes leaves green is no longer pumped into the leaves and they loose color and eventually drop off.