What does baking soda do to water?

In water, baking soda dissolves. Sodium bicarbonate being a weak base, the pH of the water would rise above 7. In vinegar, baking soda breaks down into water, carbon dioxide and sodium acetate, so it would bubble up as the gas escapes.