How long does steak cook?

Place the steaks on the grill and cook until golden brown and slightly charred, 4-5 minutes. Turn the steaks over and continue to grill 3 to 5 minutes for medium-rare (an internal temperature of 135 degrees F), 5-7 minutes for medium (140 degrees F) or 8-10 minutes for medium-well (150 degrees F).