How do you tell if apple juice is bad?

Typically, when apple juice spoils, it has begun to ferment a bit. A good way to check for fermentation, is simply smelling the apple juice. If the odor is in any way sour, or is like beer or wine, than the juice has started fermenting and should be discarded.