What was the galveston plague?

Galveston is an Island and city off the coast of mainland Texas. In 1920 Galveston had an outbreak of bubonic plague. The plague also appeared in a few other U.S. ports, suggesting a common source. The last human case in Galveston was diagnosed in December of 1920.