How many countires are in europe?

There are, at present, 44 countries in Europe, according to the UN. The United Nations geoscheme for Europe has divided the continent into different regions. As per this scheme, there are ten countries in Northern Europe, ten in Eastern Europe, nine in Western Europe, and fifteen in Southern Europe.