Why are t-shirts called t-shirts?

If you lay a short sleeve flat, or hold it up, it makes a "T" shape with the body and the sleeves. It is not factually known where the term originated, but is likely to have originated with the Navy.

---

T-shirts look like the letter T with the short arms being the top.