How do you counter salt?

Counteract saltiness by stirring a pinch of sugar into soups, sauces or other liquids. Consider brown sugar for darker sauces. Transform too-salty tomato sauces into a tomato cream sauce by adding a splash of cream to dial back the saltiness.