What is the nursery rhyme diddle diddle dumpling?

This English nursery rhyme was published in London in 1797. It starts with the following lyrics: Diddle, diddle, dumpling, my son John, Went to bed with his trousers on; One shoe off, and the other shoe on, Diddle, diddle, dumpling, my son John