Why do people bite gold?

Gold is a soft metal, so people bite it in order to estimate if it is truly gold. Biting gold will leave an indentation in the metal. Other metals, such as led, will also pass the "bite test." Biting metal to determine if it is gold is not a definitive way of identifying if something is truly gold.